Skip to content

Homemade Strawberry Cream Pops

June 13, 2011

 

 

 

Last year as a wedding gift we received a Zoku Quick Pop Maker.  Even though we were married in November, a time of year when ice pops aren’t at the top of our treat list, I dreamed of warm summer nights when I would make fresh berry pops with the maker.   This weekend didn’t quite fall into the warm summer night category but I was ready for a yummy fruit pop!  Strawberry season is right around the corner and I still have two bags of frozen strawberries from last year in the freezer.  Crazy, I know, but I get a little nuts hoarding all the  yummy fresh fruits and vegetables from last season when the winter sets in and our diet consists of root vegetables and winter soups. 

 

 

I busted out the strawberries tonight and my Mark Bittman cookbook and in a mere 12 minutes the first batch of fruit pops were ready. I modified the recipe a bit to include less sugar (50%) less and because I wanted them to be cream pops I included a bit of milk.  I used 1% instead of 2% and tried to judge how much by looks instead of using an entire cup as the recipe called for. 

 

The were delicious!  And it falls right into our believe that if you want a yummy treat you should make it instead of running right out and buying it.  OK, right now we follow this rule about 50% of the time.   The times we do want a treat and we go out and buy it we frequent local bakeries or ice cream shops or restaurants that specialize in local foods so we can keep to our believe that you can get the food you need right in your own backyard – literally!  There have been times I have wanted a blueberry pie and the thought of making an entire one from scratch seemed to much and our “rule” was enough to keep me from running out and buying one.  Fortunately with the Zoku fresh fruit pops are a mere 15 minutes away!

 

xo,

audra

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Red Velvet permalink
    June 13, 2011 5:38 pm

    Looks refreshing and delicious. That was a good gift.

Leave a Reply

