Skip to content

My own storycorps

June 15, 2011

I love Storycorps on NPR. Little bits of peoples histories recorded not only for the radio but for archiving at the Library of Congress. Years from now history will not only be what is in the history books but also in these little stories told by every day people about ordinary and extraordinary things.

This year my personal project is to create a little storycorps of my own. I have wonderful images of my family events and I look forward to the day years from now when I can look at them with Hailey and Riley’s children and tell them about the time when. What was missing was the audio and maybe a little of the video. I want to be able to tell them about the day Bampi (my dady) helped me make fritters but also have them hear Bampi tell about how it was when he was a kid – stories from their great grandfather.

So I started my little project when we reinstated the family tradition of fritters for Easter. A few still images, a little audio and a whole lot of learning about this new world of video I have produced my first “short”.

If you read my blogs you know I am big on preserving personal history – how else are people to know where they come from. This is my latest endeavor!

BTW: There are outtakes after the credits:)

How are you recording your personal history?

xo,
audra

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 4:06 pm

    Waaaaaah! I love you! And your traditions. Did Minion get involved in the fritter making?

Leave a Reply

