Skip to content

Localvore? Vegetarian? I don’t think there is a word for us….

November 21, 2011

Matt and I sent the pigs to the butcher last weekend.  It was a solemn and strange experience for us.  I remember buying local pigs when I was a child but that was years ago and Matt has never been quite this close to his food source.

And that got me thinking… what are we now?

We certainly aren’t vegetarians because we eat meat.

We aren’t omnivores because Matt will only eat the meat that we raise, he won’t even eat the local farmer’s meat. I think that means we aren’t localvores either?

Not herbavores or vegans or ….

I am not saying we have to have a label, but it makes it easier than explaining why Matt is eating a vegetarian entree when just last week he had a B.L.T.

So what are we?

xo,

the farmers wife

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    November 21, 2011 12:53 pm

    Foxfirerivores? Years ago there was a series of books about living off the land — if you couldn’t grow it, make it or hunt it (thats not you), you didn’t need it. That’s as close as I can come.

Leave a Reply

